Practical information

Practical information

Who our courses are for

The continuing education programmes at Bern University of Applied Sciences are intended for professionally active and experienced university graduates.  They are also addressed to companies, public administration departments, organisations, associations, and other social groupings.

Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) / Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA)

The «Master of Advanced Studies (MAS)» and, in the business area, «Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA)» degree courses are part of the Swiss university education system. They are governed by the institutional accreditation of the relevant university, with optional specific programme accreditation. The extra-occupational studies are typically taken over four to five semesters (up to five years for modular degree courses) and are completed with a master’s dissertation. The degree courses are assigned at least 60 ECTS credits. A professional university degree is generally required for admission. You can find further information about university Master's qualifications here.

Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS)

 “Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS)” continuing education courses are intended for university graduates.  The part-time, professionally related courses are taken over three to four semesters. For achievement of the qualification, at least 30 ECTS credits must be earned. A DAS course leads to a Bern University of Applied Sciences diploma.

Certificate of Advanced Studies (CAS)

The “Certificate of Advanced Studies (CAS)” is a part-time, professionally related course of study, which requires 10 ECTS credits. Courses of this kind are taken over one to two semesters, are intended for university graduates, and lead to a Bern University of Applied Sciences certificate.

Short courses / seminars

Across its eight departments, Bern University of Applied Sciences offers a wide range of short courses and seminars. They are intended for a wide variety of learners with varying backgrounds and in general do not require a university degree for admission.


The ECTS (European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System) is a Europe-wide system for crediting, transferring and accumulating educational attainment.  Continuing education learning attainment is measured in ECTS terms. 1 credit corresponds to a student work input of 25 to 30 hours; 60 credits are awarded for a full academic year.

Print page