Governing bodies

The University Board and the University Executive Board are the strategic and operative governing bodies at Bern University of Applied Sciences.

University Board

As the strategic governing body of Bern University of Applied Sciences BFH, the University Board is responsible to the Canton for the University’s positioning and profile. Based on the performance mandate from the cantonal government, it decides on the strategy and budget of BFH. The University Board monitors the application of the performance mandate and is responsible for budgetary compliance.

The University Board comprises seven members elected by the cantonal government (who are not part of BFH), the President, and one representative each from the teaching staff and the student body. In addition, the University Executive Board and the Education Department of Canton Bern each have an advisory representative on the committee.


Markus Ruprecht**

CEO Güdel AG, Langenthal


Stefan Gelzer**

Director of School of Design Bern and Biel


Prof. Dr. Herbert Binggeli**

President of Bern University of Applied Sciences BFH, Bern

Dr. Bernhard Bratschi

CEO Silent Gliss International Ltd.

Monika Eichelberger-Gerber**

Head of Alterszentrum Baumgarten, Bettlach

Dr. Regula Gloor

Executive Board Member of the Gebr. Gloor AG, Burgdorf

Werner Luginbühl

Council of States Canton Berne

Hans-Martin Wahlen

CEO Kambly SA

Teaching staff representative

Prof. Dr. Anne Krauter Kellein (ad interim)

Lecturer, Bern University of the Arts HKB

Student representative

Christian Martens

Student, Engineering and Information Technology

University Executive Board*

Prof. René Graf

Director, Architecture, Wood and Civil Engineering

Canton Berne Education Department*

Astrid Furtwaengler

Director, Universities of Applied Sciences Section


Yves Abelin**

Head of Legal Services, President's Office, Bern

* advisory representative
** Member of the University Board committee (further member: Prof. Dr. Magdalena Schindler Stokar, ​​Deputy President, Director HAFL)

University Executive Board

The University Executive Board (UEB) is responsible for the operational business of Bern University of Applied Sciences and prepares decisions at a strategic level for the University Board. The members of the UEB are the President, the Administrative Director, and, in an advisory role, the Head of Communication and the General Secretary.


Prof. Dr. Herbert Binggeli President



Prof. Dr. Urs Brügger

Director, Health Professions, Office Equal opportunities*

Prof. Dr. Corina Caduff

Vice-President Research

Prof. René Graf

Director, Architecture, Wood and Civil Engineering, Sector Bilingualism and Multilingualism*

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Kissling-Näf

Director, Business, Office Sustainable Development*

Dr. Urs Mäder

President, Swiss College of Sports Magglingen, Office Sport*

Prof. Dr. Lukas Rohr

Director,  Engineering and Information Technology, Office Internationalisation*

Prof. Dr. Anna Maria Riedi

Director, Social Work, Sector Quality Development*

Prof. Dr. Magdalena Schindler Stokar

Deputy President, Director, School of Agricultural, Forest and Food Sciences, Zollikofen

Prof. Wiebke Twisselmann

Vice-President Teaching

Felix Mäder

Administrative Director, Services

Isabelle Delaloye Hösli **

General Secretary, President's Office

Christian Schultz **

Head of Communication a. i., President's Office

*      Offices are allocated within the University Executive Board; each member is responsible for a section.
**    Advisory members without voting rights